General Discussion Triathlon Talk » disappointing first fit Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2019-01-18 12:40 PM

Subject: disappointing first fit
Do your fits always help you improve? Or do you sometimes feel that the fit hurts your performance?

I am somewhat new to the sport and got a bike fit last year. It helped somewhat. But overall I was pretty disappointed with the process.

One of the issue was that my fitter didn't exactly walk me through why he was making the changes he was . ie. what was the rationale was. Granted I was asking him to make me as fitted to a aero position on an endurance road bike ( specialized Roubaix)...

I started noticing that I found the new position almost unrideable. I experienced three issues.

1. Shoulder pain
2. Right foot numbness
3. The saddle was just critically painful.

I then tinkered around with the fit. I noticed he had set my cleats as far front as possible, it seemed it was ahead of the ball of my feet.
The saddle was moved way back. Making me feel stretched. I moved the saddle forward significantly.

I also changed my saddle to a snub nosed which helped a lot.

I am curious if any of you have had misses with a fit. I rode in the new fit for a month before giving up... I am however also trying to adjust to a new position... so its all pretty painful.

I am considering going elsewhere for a fit, given that I am feeling that I have a better understanding of where my pain points are. ( after having some a few long rides)

2019-01-18 3:36 PM
in reply to: orijitdhar

User image

Official BT Coach
Indianapolis, Indiana
Gold member
Subject: RE: disappointing first fit

Originally posted by orijitdhar

One of the issue was that my fitter didn't exactly walk me through why he was making the changes he was . ie. what was the rationale was. Granted I was asking him to make me as fitted to a aero position on an endurance road bike ( specialized Roubaix)...