General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Hello-newbie here! Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2019-02-28 10:15 AM

Subject: Hello-newbie here!
I am brand new to triathlons! I am planning on doing my first sprint in April. I started running a year ago and completed a 1/2 marathon in Oct 2018, but I have never swam other than the kind you do with a beer in your hand, and I can ride a bike, but right now my biking options are my very old mountain bike or my pink one speed beach cruiser with a basket. None the less I am riding mountain bike for now and working on my swimming in our local lap pool! I plan at some point to upgrade the bike and take some formal swimming lessons. I am a mother of 3 kiddos, thirty something and work a full time job so time is hard to find, but I manage. Right now I am doing 2 swims, 3 runs, and 2 bikes a week and 4 days of strength training. I am pretty slow, but trying to up my game! Glad to find a place for beginners!
-Ginger

2019-02-28 11:09 AM
in reply to: gingerbell

Subject: RE: Hello-newbie here!
Welcome.

Your mountain bike will do find for training and sprints. I did my first triathlon (a sprint) on my MTB and I see them fairly frequently in sprint tris around here.

Have fun.
2019-02-28 3:37 PM

Damn Ginger, I think that's a pretty impressive volume of workouts! I'm in a VERY similar boat as you and definitely am not getting in 11 workouts a week.

For your sprint tri have you looked into renting a road bike just for the race? That might be more cost-effective until you decide whether to keep doing more tri races, and train on your mountain bike in the meantime.
2019-03-04 9:08 AM
in reply to: PDXmom

Hello everyone, i'm also new: on this site and in sport :D
2019-03-04 1:18 PM

User image

Champion
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Bronze member