General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Vo2 Max declining, why? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2019-06-24 12:46 AM

Subject: Vo2 Max declining, why?
Hello there,
I extended Joe Friel's 12 week beginner triathlon plan to 18 weeks and I'm now 5 weeks from race. I am using a Garmin 645 and VO2 Max is declining as of last update today, from 39 to 38 and now 37. My fitness age went from 20 to 30.

I do feel stronger, I'm able to swim more laps continuously, run longer intervals and bike farther and up hills without being as tired.

I was out of shape when I started training.

Granted I am rather fatigued this past week as I'm on antibiotics for an infection and I was traveling for 3 weeks May- June. I only missed two sessions when I was away but admittedly it wasn't as intense because I had to borrow bikes and terrains weren't as challenging.

Could this be it? Should I need worried?

Any advice much appreciated!
Cheers,
Amy

2019-06-24 5:00 AM
in reply to: rotipom

User image

Extreme Veteran
Subject: RE: Vo2 Max declining, why?

DO NOT worry

The Garmin Vo2 number is an estimate based on pace and HR variables (on the run)

It uses max HR (which is probably not that accurate). I believe it also uses HRV (heart rate variability). Garmin even suggests use a HR strap and not the optical sensor for more accurate numbers. HRV with an optical sensor will struggle.

Being sick will affect your HR and HRV, so can throw things way off.

It's a "fun" number to watch, but it means very little.
2019-06-24 7:45 AM

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member