General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Tri in 2 weeks, am I prepared? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2019-07-14 7:44 PM

Subject: Tri in 2 weeks, am I prepared?
Hi everyone!
I can hardly believe I'm 1 weekend away from my Tri! I am in the last 2 weeks of Joe Friel's absolute Beginner plan.

My Sprint Tri is 450m pool swim, 15mile bike ride through rolling hills + 5k run.

Just completed my mini Tri workout today ( brick workouts are weekends only in my plan) of 500m continuous freestyle swim, 10mile/ 50min bike ride and 20 min/1.5 mile nonstop run. Suggested workout durations are per my training plan.

I have ridden up to 14 miles on the actual course once before and I'm good on the swim but I've not done a full 3mile/5k run yet. The most is 2miles. My training plan has been time-focused and I'm still quite slow.

Am I prepared? I haven't done a full race distance back to back yet and my workouts are ramping down till race day for adequate rest.

Advice much appreciated! Thanks so much!

2019-07-14 8:43 PM
in reply to: rotipom

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member
Subject: RE: Tri in 2 weeks, am I prepared?
You'll be fine. The swim is usually the biggest challenge for most beginners anyway. Sprint tri bike and run distances should be well within the reach of most reasonably active people, even on minimal training. The key is not overdoing it on the bike so you have nothing left for the run. It's never "just" 5K LOL, even if you have a marathon background, which you clearly don't. Seriously, I have done maybe 12 half-iron and one full, plus numerous Olympic and other random distance events, and, except for a few cases where I was ill or injured, the worst suffering I've done on a run has been in sprints--in one case from overdoing the bike and leaving nothing for the run; in the other, really extreme conditions (an approaching tropical storm at the equator) throughout the race.