General Discussion Triathlon Talk » 9 months into swim training, only endurance but not speed improved Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2019-07-23 8:43 PM

User image

Subject: 9 months into swim training, only endurance but not speed improved
This was by previous thread:

https://beginnertriathlete.com/discussion/forums/thread-view.asp?tid...

I've been training in the squad for 9 months now, supplemented with some private lessons and also a swim smooth video analysis. However, the symptom mentioned in the old thread still exists even I modified the form after the video analysis and private lessons. The only difference is that I can now go much longer than before, but my race pace didn't get faster (i.e. I kept my previous 3 km pace for 5 km, but my 1.5 km time didn't improve)

For example, on a good day, I may be able to do 8 x 100 m on 2'5" returning on 1'55", however after that my triceps were so fatigued, then once they got fatigued, my pace then dropped immediately to 2'5" or even 2'15", failing to keep up with the interval because I could no longer keep the form which allowed me to swim at 1'55" / 100 m.

Eventually, in order to be sustainable, I cannot go faster than 2'10" / 100 m no matter how I tried, although I can go MUCH longer. I can now go about 10 km before I feel tired in my lats, then I can still maybe force myself through at least 3 km more afterwards, but the speed is still very slow.

Moreover, after the technique adjustment from my squad coach, my stroke per length and stroke count both increased, as the coach thought I was overgliding and always told me to spin my arm faster.