General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Cycling: Trainer vs Road vs Path - Reposted from Articles Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2019-07-28 3:52 PM

User image

Official BT Coach
Indianapolis, Indiana
Gold member
Subject: Cycling: Trainer vs Road vs Path - Reposted from Articles

Cycling: Trainer vs Road vs Path

author : alicefoeller
comments : 0

How I've changed my cycling preferences over the years, and why

I've been riding a bike to train for triathlons for 19 years, and it looks like I've come back to the beginning in my preference for training locations. I decided to take a hard look and where and when I train, and why I've changed those choices over the years.

Every cyclist's circumstances, preferences and cycling infrastructure are different, but it pays to re-evaluate from time to time.

I began my cycling training for my first sprint triathlon by riding on the bike path near where I lived in Chicago's western suburbs. The Prairie Path began in a fairly rough neighborhood, where it was paved but interrupted every block by a stop sign and a road crossing. A bit father out, it changed to crushed limestone and had fewer road crossings. The crushed limestone made for frequent bike washing because of the dust, but it made it easy for other path users to hear a bike coming, and it was fairly skid-resistant.

In addition to riding the Prairie Path, I would also travel to the sites of future races and ride the course on the roads, but that was usually the only time I road in traffic.