General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bike Opinion- Giant OCR 3 Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2019-08-13 7:42 AM

Subject: Bike Opinion- Giant OCR 3
I am looking for a cheap beginner bike to ride before I go all in and buy a more expensive one. I don’t know a lot about bike brands and what not, so I am not sure if I found a good one. It is a Giant OCR 3 with sora shifters, triple front 8sp rear and estimated the year around 2010/2011. They’re asking $250

2019-08-14 10:00 AM
in reply to: Lexr22

User image

Pro
, New Hampshire
Subject: RE: Bike Opinion- Giant OCR 3
You will struggle with those components. Sora is just not the Shimano quality you would expect. I've been wrenching bikes for close to 25 years and every time I see a Sora bike I cringe. I know no matter how well I set it up, it won't stay for the long run.

I can understand the temptation to spend $250 on a bike, but I would much rather find 105 equipped bike. Plus find 8 speed components will be very difficult...
2019-08-14 3:05 PM

User image

Cypress, Texas

Originally posted by Lexr22 I am looking for a cheap beginner bike to ride before I go all in and buy a more expensive one. I don’t know a lot about bike brands and what not, so I am not sure if I found a good one. It is a Giant OCR 3 with sora shifters, triple front 8sp rear and estimated the year around 2010/2011. They’re asking $250