General Discussion Triathlon Talk » When to move the swim outdoors Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2019-09-27 3:04 PM

Subject: When to move the swim outdoors
I am completely brand new to triathlons and want to do my first sprint next fall. I plan to work on my swimming indoors for the winter as I live in WI. When do WI athletes usually move to open water training in the spring? Is there a certain month or water temp you wait for?

2019-09-28 7:09 PM
in reply to: awappel

User image

Master
Columbus, Ohio
Coaching member
Subject: RE: When to move the swim outdoors
I'm in Ohio, which is not as cold as Wisconsin. Unfortunately you might need to wait until as late as May or June.
Water temperatures are funny. For example, 50 degrees doesn't sound that cold when that's the air temp. But 50 degree water is only 18 degrees from ice.

I've done races in Wisconsin with a water temp of 52 degrees in a full wetsuit and it seemed dangerous. I couldn't feel my face or feet, and my body reflexively wouldn't allow me to put my face in for the first several strokes. Many people dropped out, and several people received medical attention.

60 degrees feels COLD but won't hurt you if you keep moving and wear a wetsuit.

70 feels cold when you get in but is fine if you are moving.

78 is a typical competitive lap swimming pool temp.

82 to 86 is what the old people at the YMCA like the pool to be.

98.6 is your body temperature, and therefore feels neither hot nor cold.

Hot tubs are 102 to 104.
2019-09-28 8:26 PM
in reply to: alicefoeller

User image

Master
White Oak, Texas
Are there any power plan lakes near you? they will normally be a few degrees warmer and may get you in the open water sooner.
2019-09-28 9:20 PM
in reply to: awappel

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member