General Discussion Triathlon Talk » New to tri. How best to proceed? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2019-11-10 7:50 PM

Kodiak, Alaska
Subject: New to tri. How best to proceed?
Hello all! Thanks for taking the time to read and weigh in.

A little about where I am at currently:

I have been attending a Masters swim group for a few months and feel like my swim has improved a lot. No previous formal swim experience. I recently swam 1k in 29 and a half minutes.

I have been running 1.5-2.5 hours 2-3 times per week at a low HR (Maffetone method) for a few weeks now. I ran a half marathon in mid October in 2:47 on a hilly course. This was my first race ever and prior to the event my longest run leading up to it was 7 miles so I was definitely under prepared. I feel like I could already run it a little faster and feel better doing it.

I did some (but not a lot of) road cycling over the summer. None of it was long distance. I now have a trainer set up which I plan to train on through the winter.

Short term:
-I am planning to do the local sprint (1k lap swim followed by 5k run, then 20k bike) in Late April/Early May (date TBD).
-I am thinking about doing a marathon in June and/or October
-There is another local event in Late May that consists of a 41 mile very hilly bike, 9 mile mountain run, 1 mile lap swim. I would like to do the triathlon, but I am concerned about being ready for the bike in time. If not, I will just compete in the run.

Longer term
-I would like to do a 70.3. I think in 2021 is a good timeframe, but if I found myself feeling ready I might consider late 2020. There aren't any locally, so I would have to travel to it. I will try to fit it in a time that would double as a family visit or family vacation.