General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Longest First Time Post Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2020-02-19 6:25 PM

Subject: Longest First Time Post
This is going to be long….

I've done a decent amount of reading but wouldn't mind getting feedback, questions at the bottom if you want to jump forward.

Intro: 41, 6-5+, 205-210 lbs
Health: Good
Fitness: Better than average in the USA…
Ailments: Lower back which can cause alignment issues which causes, sore knees, hips, but PT, yoga and stretching solve it. I love to golf and it sets everything off…
Swim: 30 yrs experience, college swimmer, now masters swimmer. Done numerous 2 and 5 mile events.
Bike: I have no experience. Last bike purchase was a mtb in ’96. I did a bike fitting and purchased a new XL - Trek SC. Arrived yesterday.
Running: I run for fun/exercise and in the last two years completed three events, (2) 13.1 and a 10 mile. These are the first organized events I’ve completed. Pace was around ~ 9:15 and I didn't train, it was social, I love to talk when I run.

My past go-to exercise regime:
M-W-F: 1.25 run to YMCA, weights for 30 minutes, swim 2 miles, run 1.25 home.
Sun: 1.25 run – 2 mile swim – 1.25 run.
I'll throw in Yoga, Orange Theory, Solid Core if time allows - priority in that order.

Now I’ve decided to do and train for a 70.3 – Lake Anna, VA.

I only want to train 5 days per week. I know I need rest, I get sore/tired, I take naps after a heavy days workout, arthritis runs in my family and now have it in my hands, I need a minimum of 8 hours of sleep per day. I’m at week 6 on my current training calendar and everything has gone well. I feel great. I’ve took pieces of training from multiple resources / my time availability - here goes.

Background of training
Week 1 totals: Swim 8m, bike 60m and run 12m, 90 minutes of weights.

Current week - Wk 6 totals: Swim 8 miles, bike 90m, run 21 miles.
Details