General Discussion Triathlon Talk » HR Training Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2020-05-12 12:20 PM

, Tennessee
Subject: HR Training
Looking for some advice on HR Training! I have been running consistently since the start of 2020, but I half-heartedly trained for and ran a 1/2 marathon in 2019. I did the Run Test this week for determining LT and training zones. I am using a Garmin Forerunner 235 watch to track my heart rate. When I finished the run test, my LT was 181, putting my zone 1 at 119-153, and my zone 2 at 154 - 164. I was really surprised by how high it was, and am just wondering if this seems accurate?? I am 26 years old, about 155 pounds, not sure if that matters. Appreciate any info!

2020-05-13 5:44 AM
in reply to: sport13

User image

Extreme Veteran
Subject: RE: HR Training
Originally posted by sport13

Looking for some advice on HR Training! I have been running consistently since the start of 2020, but I half-heartedly trained for and ran a 1/2 marathon in 2019. I did the Run Test this week for determining LT and training zones. I am using a Garmin Forerunner 235 watch to track my heart rate. When I finished the run test, my LT was 181, putting my zone 1 at 119-153, and my zone 2 at 154 - 164. I was really surprised by how high it was, and am just wondering if this seems accurate?? I am 26 years old, about 155 pounds, not sure if that matters. Appreciate any info!

people poo-poo MAF training but it says 185-26 (your age) = 159 bpm is your MAF heart rate which is smack in the middle of that Z2 you calculated. So that seems positive.

You could double and triple check a couple of ways.

Take your 1/2 marathon time and plug it into McMillan's running calculator. It will give you paces for various runs. Look at what an "easy" pace should be.

Then go out and run and that pace. In theory it should be around that 159 and should be relatively easy. Try to do it on a flat course in comfortable temperature.