General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Buoyancy Shorts - do they help Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2021-05-29 9:13 AM

Subject: Buoyancy Shorts - do they help
Hello all, I am a complete newbie here. I have run races and have been cycling for the last 3 years and now want to try my hand at a tri. So swinging Is my weakest activity right now. Do bouyancy shorts help? I’m a sinker and my legs drop when I swim. Just looking for some advice.

Thanks in advance.

2021-05-29 6:34 PM
in reply to: 1stepforward

User image

Champion
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Bronze member
Subject: RE: Buoyancy Shorts - do they help

Probably not as much as some lessons from a swim coach.

sinking legs are symptomatic of someone with either:

weak or ineffective kick
Lifting the head rather than rotating to breathe 

2021-05-30 8:12 AM
in reply to: #5276350

Thank you McFuzz. I do plan on swim lessons to help with my form. Even though I have been a life long swimmer I had no idea how bad of a form I have until i started to swim laps.
2021-05-31 11:41 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Originally posted by 1stepforward

Thank you McFuzz. I do plan on swim lessons to help with my form. Even though I have been a life long swimmer I had no idea how bad of a form I have until i started to swim laps.

Goofy but interesting

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oW5nE5FBPsQ
2021-06-03 11:05 AM

User image

Pro
Melbourne FL
Gold member

BT has a good TI video that helped me a lot a long time ago.  The key was to establish balance in the water, to raise the legs it has to start up front with dropping the hands, which will lower the shoulders and everything connected to them! The other help with lowering the hands in the water was I could then perform a better catch which helped with the stoke and distance per stroke.  It was a real 'aha' moment for me in swimming. 

You can view and download the TI video here: https://beginnertriathlete.com/cms/uploads/TISolvingSpeed.mp4