General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Leg Issues - How Do I Train? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2021-06-26 6:58 AM

Reading, Pennsylvania
Subject: Leg Issues - How Do I Train?
Hello everyone!

I've been doing sprint tri's for 13 years now (not that I've done them *every* year) but I'm now 49 and I've been having leg issues - mainly hamstring. I'm trying to train the best that I can but I'm, well, limited. I've never followed a formal training program, but I'd like to start. I took a look at this one (https://beginnertriathlete.com/cms/article-detail.asp?articleid=261) but there's no way my legs can take that much. I can definitely complete a sprint, I just have to take my training easy to a degree and lower my expectations.

What resources are there for someone who needs help training at my age with some physical issues? I want to do the best that I am able to without really injuring myself. Right now, I'm just kind of winging it - trying to train and rest the best that I can on my own. I also am not sure the best way to "rest" my legs.

I need some help! : )

Thanks,
Steve

Edited by SteveRuns 2021-06-26 6:59 AM

2021-06-26 8:44 PM
in reply to: SteveRuns

User image

Champion
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Bronze member
Subject: RE: Leg Issues - How Do I Train?

i haven’t looked at that plan, but most are structured to provide recovery time.  I think most of the BT plans are duration based (I.e. run 35 minutes) rather than distance based.  

you might get some massages and a sports massage therapist can recommend stretched and exercises to help your hamstrings. 

2021-06-28 1:54 PM
in reply to: McFuzz

User image

Expert
Middle River, Maryland
Silver member

You've likely approached the age where it is important to do certain things, and prepare yourself in certain ways, to be able to execute on the training plans you want to do.  Be happy it didn't start until your late 40s!