General Discussion Triathlon Talk » All the questions...need all the answers! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2021-07-01 12:01 PM

Subject: All the questions...need all the answers!
Hello! My name is Annie, I am 40, and I am just beginning to train for a sprint tri in September. I did a sprint in 2009 and I was true beginner (mountain bike, ran in a bathing suit and cotton tee shirt/shorts) so while this current event isn't my first, it may as well be as the last try was long ago. I actually still have that same mountain bike, ha. Im looking for a bit of advice on gear and training.

1. In regards to a wetsuit (will be swimming in open water), a triathlon suit, road bike, how would you rank in order of importance? I would love a proper road bike but purchasing a new road bike is out of the question for now (until I am certain I will continue with these events). I am a stay at home mom so finding the time to train is a goal in and of itself! I haven't had much luck finding used road bikes ( are there reputable online sites that sell refurbished bikes?). Do I NEED a tri suit or can I just rock a sports bra and bike shorts under a wetsuit?

2. I have a very good baseline of fitness and am confident with the bike and run, the swim is my worry. Distance is 1/2 mi swim, 13 mi bike, 3 mi run. I basically printed out Hal Higdon's intermediate tri training program and its all time blocks (swim 30 min, run 30, etc). Any other resources out there that folks would recommend?

3. Lastly, any advice is welcome! I am excited, this is something just for me after many years of caring for small children. Im looking forward to the challenge! And showing my kids their mom is a bada**.

2021-07-01 7:01 PM
in reply to: 0

User image

Champion
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Bronze member
Subject: RE: All the questions...need all the answers!

Welcome Annie.