General Discussion Triathlon Talk » 1-Hour Power Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2022-08-11 10:38 AM

User image

Cypress, Texas
Subject: 1-Hour Power

There is a local running group that I am fairly new to that is do what they call "1-Hour Power" for their group workout on Saturday. 

They must do it every year because most of the people in my running circle have done it at least once before.  The lead group is advertised to be doing a 6:00 min/mi pace for 10 miles with a progression of slower pace groups following them.  I posted to the 15 people in my Saturday morning group to ask what pace they were planning on doing and I was told that this workout is supposed to be as fast as you can go for an hour.

So, it sounds like a 60-minute lactate threshold workout to me.  I have done the 30-minute lactate threshold test a few times and I have done some 15K and 10-mile races which would be very similar but this is going to be something new for me.   This is kind of exciting.  I am guessing that there are going to be at least 100 people at this group run (and possibly a lot more than that since it sounds like a big local tradition). 

Has anyone else ever heard of group workouts that consist of a 60-minute lactate threshold workout?     Is anyone up to a virtual 1-Hour Power this month?  If so I will post it in the challenge thread.  :-)   

2022-08-11 1:51 PM
in reply to: BlueBoy26

User image

Expert
Middle River, Maryland
Silver member
Subject: RE: 1-Hour Power

First, that sounds painful.  It would be cool to test like that but I'd schedule some taper and recovery and treat it like a race.  Back when I peaked in adult running shape maybe 8 years ago I might have been able to get to just short of 8 miles on flat terrain - that would have been a nice challenge to just hold 7:30 for eight miles vs. a 10K.  Nah, still sounds awful.