General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Trying something new ... Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2003-12-22 11:32 AM

New user

Washington DC
Subject: Trying something new ...
All-

I have been running ultra marathons for a couple of years and decided that I need to do a couple of tri's as well. I am not fast in the ultras, but I still have a lot of fun. Here are my PRs:

Marathon - 3:58:47
Trail 50k - 4:40:35
50 Miler - 9:51:43

I am hoping to drop the 50k to around 4:15 this year and the 50 mile time down about 30 to 45 min. Both of these goals are feel can be achieved. The marathon time I would like to drop to around 3:15, I would like to qualify for Boston.

I have never been a big swimmer, so I think that would be the most difficult part for me. I am looking for some help is trying to figure out what where to begin.

Thanks

Steve

2003-12-22 12:28 PM
in reply to: #2771

Extreme Veteran
Fort Wayne, IN
Subject: RE: Trying something new ...
Great to have you here. With your running background you may be able to give some insight to training for long distances.

In regards to us helping you, we need a little more information on what your goals are as well as the time to put into swimming and biking. I think the best thing to do is find a distance you want to Tri. Your running background gives you the opportunity to do a full Ironman. However that would take a lot to get up to swim/biking distances. The great thing about triathlons is that they range from sprint distances, olympic, 1/2 IM and IM. For your first look at the average distances (they vary a little, not all sprints are the same ect.) and find one you are comfortable with in the swimming and biking.