General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Newbie-Shoe Question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-07-29 8:33 PM

New user

Lake Placid, NY
Subject: Newbie-Shoe Question
I have been mostly a walker until yesterday. When do I know that my sneaks are breaking down? Any advice?

Edited by gbissonette 2004-07-29 8:34 PM

2004-07-29 9:03 PM
in reply to: #41705

Regular
salem ma
Subject: RE: Newbie-Shoe Question
I'm not an expert by any stretch, but I get a new pair every few months. My feet and calves will hurt after even a shorter run in an old, worn-out pair of sneaks. Instead of the nice cushy bounce, it's like the dull ugh feeling - can definitely feel it.
have fun with your training!!!
2004-08-18 2:29 PM

User image

Veteran
Joysey
I've been running since I was in 5th grade (which has been a few years) and I go by the calulations of either 500 miles or when you notice small creases in the side cusioning of the shoe, which ever comes first. If your unsure as to where to look, it's just below the outside ankle bone. It's all the padding near the heel. Once you see that there are small creases in the padding, it's usually a good time to replace them. I keep my old shoes (if they're not too worn out) for my light run days and I save the new ones for the training runs.
I also switch it up between 2 pairs of shoes that are relatively around the same wear so that if I get one that gets damaged (trailrunning results in this) or one that provides more stability or is lighter, I don;t have to wait to break them in for race...they're already broken in. This is just how I've always done it. Remeber, do what is right for you. If your knees and arches hurt chances are it's time to replace the shoes.
2004-08-18 6:23 PM

User image

Veteran
Memphis, TN