General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Arg Achilles! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-10-25 8:21 PM

User image

Regular
New York,
Subject: Arg Achilles!
So I have been running for a couple of months and I have just had my first running injury. I have been so pumped for getting in shape for my first triathlon in the spring that I over did it. I was running alot (3 miles per day - 3 days on - one day off) but then I upped it to 4 miles. Felt fine the first couple of times but then I started trying to get my pace down. (See:
http://scottradny.motionbased.com) In doing so, I aggravated my achilles. Havent run for one week now and am itching to get back out there.

This has lead me to hit the gym and get on the bike (don't own one yet -still figuring out ways to find the $ for it ) and also using the elliptical trainer then stretching sans ankle. One day bike, next day elliptical. Going to begin swimming next week as well (swim coach - more $- somewhere someone in this site did state this sport was $$$$ - no kidding!

I have read posts about other people getting this injury and I have also read about how to treat it (ice, Aleve, ice, Aleve, etc -- concerned about taking anything such as Aleve before I run - read that its not a good thing to do) Anyone have an idea as to when they think I could get back outside before old man winter rears his ugly head? Can anyone comment on what has worked for them for this type of injury? Medications taken?

Sorry for so many questions but I need to know so I dont make the same mistake twice.

-- Proper preparation prevents poor performance! In my case, I didn't follow my own adage!

Thanks in advance.

2006-10-25 9:43 PM
in reply to: #579150

User image

Subject: RE: Arg Achilles!
Rest, ice and stretching (your calves). I've had a nagging achilles problem for a year now - so I'm not running on it until Jan. You really want to nip this one in the bud.
2006-10-26 6:06 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
northeast Ohio