General Discussion Triathlon Talk » weight loss and muscle loss Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-12-15 12:09 PM

New user

cork
Subject: weight loss and muscle loss
I am in my second year of training and want to lose some weight but never dieted before i have a question

If i am feeeling hungry eespecially late at night is my body eating at fat stores or muscles to find energy?

2006-12-15 1:59 PM
in reply to: #625059

User image

Master
Portland, OR
Subject: RE: weight loss and muscle loss

How late at night? As a general rule, if you're dieting you should consume all of your calories before 7pm (or at least two hours before bedtime). Are you sure you aren't having a craving for something? (As opposed to real hunger.) How many calories a day are you eating? Are you spreading your meals out throughout the day in 5-6 small meals or are you eating "three squares"?

Give us a little more info! Also, what is your current training like? Your eating plan will vary on a training day vs. a rest day.

Sharon 

2006-12-15 2:10 PM

New user

cork
thanks

I work shift so finish at eight and might not finish training til eleven i normally eat a recovery meal after this.
when i work night shift am always hungry before bed but lately am just ignoring it and sleeping

i eat four or five smaller meals a day when i work and three when i am off

more wondering am i losing some of my hard work if i am dieting and training at the same time?
2006-12-15 2:45 PM

User image

Master
Portland, OR