Overall Rank = /
Age Group =
Age Group Rank = 0/
Bike
  • 3h 40m
  • 62.14 miles
  • 16.95 mile/hr
Comments:

I had no idea what to expect as i have never done a bike tour before. There wer maybe 100 people doing the 62 mile loop. When we started I stayed with the "slower" group as a faster group took off initially. The group was doing 20mph which was comfortable especially in a group. I stuck with them for about 10 miles then dropped off. I dropped out because - 1. I wanted to use this a s training time for tri ie no drafting and 2. They just picked up to about 24-25 which i certianly could not maintain. I skipped the first water station as i had plenty on my bike. At 26 miles i got off at the second station and refilled/rehydrated really well. After about 40 miles, i had to keep my head going because that is usually my long ride and anything beyond that depends on the day. I had never done 62 before. I pulled into the last stop feeling really good at 44 miles. I had not eaten at the other stops, so i decided to eat a banana, 1/4 orange and a 6oz gatorade. Rehydrated and refilled as well. I also had to pee which i felt was a good sign for my hydration. The last segment was trying. After eating i felt a little sluggish, but lumbered along. I was counting the miles by .5 at a time which was a bad mental sign to me. I felt every little bump in the road, and i was dreading every time we turned into the strong headwind. In this segment I was struggling to keep 12-14mph in the headwinds. I really was trying to gauge how i would feel at 56miles. Could i run or was i just spent? I felt pretty spent at 56 but i only had 6 mi to go so i kept pushing. At around 58 mi. I got my second wind (maybe the food had digested and was available to the legs) and i felt really good coming in. At the last light we only had two miles to go and there was a light. I was stopped and a group of about three other riders caught up. They were all spent and one guy said he felt like his legs were