General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Bike Wheel/Tires Question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-09-22 6:40 PM

Extreme Veteran
Subject: Bike Wheel/Tires Question
This is a question for our bikers (remember I said I wanted to learn more about the bike this winter): What is the deal on wheels/tires?

What do discs do? Why would you get glue on tires? Zipps? Heds??

As a newbie, I am not looking to upgrade and I imagine that the higher the price, the lighter the wheel, but I am interested in the differences between the wheels/tires and am wondering what spending significant $$$ to upgrade really gets you.

Unlike many on this board, I'm not an ME. Why do people ride disc (or is it disk) wheels? If they are so great, why do so many not ride disc wheels? What do you get when you spend $800-$1200 on wheels?

Thanks in advance for any enlightenment. Wheels/tires? They are a mystery.

2004-09-22 7:15 PM
in reply to: #65339

User image

Elite
San Diego
Subject: RE: Bike Wheel/Tires Question
As far as the disc is concerned. It is more aero than a spoked wheel. When you get above say 24 mph it is easier to maintain that speed. The reasons people don't buy them is:
1) the price. They run from $500 up
2) most people can't maintain 24 mph.
I have a Renn disc. I bought it under the asumption that it will just make me faster. But I found my times were actually slower, mainly because I didn't know I needed to be over 24. So even though I was going at a pretty good speed, I was just pulling a heavier wheel. I am racing this weekend, so I was going to through the disc on and try it again, this time getting up over 24. I usually ride by cadence and not speed, so this will be different for me.