Fins Wheels Feet Racing
80F / 27C
Sunny
Total Time = 2h 08m 29s
Overall Rank = 5/393
Age Group = M30-34
Age Group Rank = 1/
Pre-race routine:

Up at 5am, got dressed, packed the car and checked out of the hotel. Ate a bowl of fruit salad an had a Snickers Marathon bar, then swung through 7-11 for coffee and a donut. Event parking was over a mile from the start/transition so everyone had to haul their gear on their bikes.
Event warmup:

Hit the lake for a bit of swimming but nothing formal.
Swim
  • 27m 25s
  • 1609 meters
  • 01m 42s / 100 meters
Comments:

The first ~200m was good old fashioned combat swimming. I got knocked around a good bit but eventually everyone spread out and found their own place. I managed to find myself a set of feet to follow for a while but I'm still learning to sit in the draft. The swim is advertised as a mile but it was probably a bit on the long side...it sure felt long. By the time I made the turn to head back to the beach I was starting to feel the heat build up and was definitely overheating by the end. I still don't know how to push myself on the swim like I can do through the rest of the race. Swimming is definitely my biggest limiter and this is where I lost about 3min to the leaders, which was about the margin to the winner when all was said and done.

Transition 1
  • 01m 38s
Comments:

Had a hard time getting the wetsuit off over my feet and that probably cost me a good 15sec.
Bike
  • 1h 02m 17s
  • 24.2 miles
  • 23.31 mile/hr
Comments: