General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Which Bike Computer?? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-09-24 10:51 PM

User image

Veteran
Woodbridge, VA
Subject: Which Bike Computer??
Hey newbie here, picking up my bike sometime next week and want to put a computer on it, is one with cadence worth it? how about wireless vs 'wired'? Some seem to get really expensive fast and just wondering if they are worth it. Thanks
jim

2004-09-25 5:21 AM
in reply to: #66390

User image

Bryan, TX
Subject: RE: Which Bike Computer??
I bought the Cateye Astrale 8 a couple of months ago. I was looking for something simple. It shows your total time, max speed, average speed, current speed, total distance, and cadence. It has a dual readout with larger digits in the top portion and small digits in the lower. In the top part of the screen, you can show cadence (rpm) or speed (mph/km) and you can scroll through all the information in the lower portion of the screen. This is a wired unit with the distance/speed sensor on the back wheel. The computer snaps off the mounting bracket so you can review your data away from the bike. I've been very happy with it!
2004-09-25 8:13 AM

User image

Santa Cruz, CA
I too bought the Cat eye 8 with cadence. It works great and have not had any problems with it. Been using it for over a month now and it helps out so much on the ride to know my cadence so i can keep a steady workout. Also i like to be able to see my max speed when im donw to see how fast i really went down that hill. It is a cheep option and if you want to go cheaper you can get it with out the cadence. Good luck and happy buying!!!!
2004-09-25 11:40 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
New Orleans, LA
I too bought the Cateye Astrale, so for it is working good.
2004-09-26 11:21 AM

User image

Regular
Harrisburg, PA