General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » One of the many, one of the few... Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-07-05 10:18 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Subject: One of the many, one of the few...
Hi!

I am a runner who, for some really odd reason, has let her husband talk her into doing her first triathlon. It's coming up here in a few weeks. It's just a sprint tri, so it will be (hopefully) short and sweet. So, I am a beginner triathlete!

I am more of a duathlon kind of girl because I am a horrible, horrible swimmer. I despise swimming. But I have been (grudgingly) getting in the pool a lot more lately. And tonight I swam 550 meters (with breaks, of course). It sounds really pathetic considering I can run more than 10 miles without problems.

I am supposed to swim 800 meters in this triathlon. However, I'm pretty sure I'm not going to be able to freestyle the whole way. Will it be really wussy if I float on my back for a while? I'll make sure I'm the last one in the water so I won't be in anyone's way. It's an open water swim. And I have tried to learn other strokes, but my body simply won't do what I tell it to when I'm in the water. I will probably take some swimming lessons in the next few months but I'm afraid I have procrastinated on this swim thing too long.

Anyone have any advice? Or encouragement?

2007-07-05 10:31 PM
in reply to: #873874

User image

Melon Presser
Subject: RE: One of the many, one of the few...

Brynn, huge props to you for taking the plunge (so to speak) and not only signing up for your first tri, but working on the swimming.

It is absolutely not wussy to float on your back for a while ... just as for weaker runners, it's perfectly okay to walk some.  Most tris, also, will let you hang on to a kayaker, boat, buoy, or rope if they are there in order to take a break.