General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Possible Knee Injury Question? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-01-24 8:52 PM

New user

Jackson, Mississippi
Subject: Possible Knee Injury Question?
My big concern at the moment is the outside of my left knee hurts pretty bad after I finish running. The pain feels much like a stone bruise and only lasts for about 45 minutes. I ice it and that seems to make it feel better. Any idea what this may be? It did not effect my Bike today, I was able to go non-stop for 2 hours+ with no pain.

Les Hardin

2004-01-25 8:50 AM
in reply to: #4831

User image

Veteran
Waco, Texas
Subject: RE: Possible Knee Injury Question?
Les,
I am no expert - big disclaimer! I have suffered with a "stabbing" style pain on the outside of my left knee after running (sometimes during, if the distance is long enough). What I suffer with is refered to as ITBS (Ilio-tibial band syndrome). The IT band is this large mass of tendon tissue that runs from the hip to the knee on the lateral leg surface (the outer thigh). In my case, my hamstrings are weak. I have been doing some resistance training, focusing on balancing my hamstrings and my quads and improving my overall strength. There are also some stretches that can be done to alleviate the pain, but describing them is nothing like seeing them. The following website was helpful for me, once I had a clear diagnosis on my particular pain. Runner's knee is another possibility, but the pain apparently enters from the front of the knee and indicates a weakness in the quads. I have, to date, had no experience with runner's knee, hope I never do !
http://www.drpribut.com/sports/sportframe.html
Hope this helps. Any time you experience pain STOP what you are doing. Pain is not to worked through, it is a message. If you ignore the detour signs on the highway, you end up in trouble - same goes for the pain signs!!
Train smart,
Vanessa
2004-01-26 9:23 PM
in reply to: #4849

New user

Jackson, Mississippi