showed up and paid 35 bucks- no t shirt :(
Event warmup:

no need to warm up for a 100 mile ride
Bike
  • 6h 39m 41s
  • 101 miles
  • 15.16 mile/hr
Comments:

well, I started riding at a fairly agressive pace, and thought I could do this thing in about 5.5 hours. I felt good and was cruising along the first 30-40 miles, although my chain was skipping in the climbing gears. I had it adjusted at stop 1, and it still skipped, so they adjusted it again at stop 2. It was a lot better, but still skipped in some gears the rest of the ride. I felt pretty good and was hydrating and eating well. I was getting a bit uncomfortable with my bike position by mile 50. My bike is small for me and I have an "agressive" fit (meaning bad fit). I was still riding pretty well and had about a 17mph avg pace up to mile 70 ish. At that point I started getting some slight cramping issues, but not too terrible and the hills were getting tougher to climb. I tried to compensate by downing gatorade and water, but my stomach just got upset and I could not eat any more gu the rest of the ride. I was either leading, or staying with the pack until about mile 80 when on the fist uphill after the sag stop my legs locked up and started cramping like hell. My hammies were seizing up on me and all I could do was massage my legs and granny gear while standing- it was incredibly painful, and the hot weather just added insult to injury. I considered packing it in at the last sag, but with 8 miles to go I decided to somehow get it done. Those last 8 miles were ougher than the first 50. The cramping was out of control- it took me 50 minutes to go the final 8 miles.
It was a pleasure to ride with Neal, Jonathan, Amy, and Lou most of the way, and other that the last 20 miles of pain I still enjoyed it overall. Lots of good lessons learned.
What would you do differently?: