Ironman
80F / 27C
Precipitation
Total Time = 4h 55m 5s
Overall Rank = 79/
Age Group = M 40-44
Age Group Rank = 10/
Pre-race routine:

Well, I had originally planned on flying in Friday but I decided to see if I could get in Thursday instead. Since I used points there were no flights available so I had to come in Wednesday. Boy am I glad I did. More to come about this.

I woke up Thursday morning and it was beautiful. Sun was shining, water was a beautiful color, sand was white, and water was calm. I have never done an ocean swim tri before so I was a little concerned about the salt water. I went to the beach and saw some other athletes swimming. Started swimming and could not believe how much more buoyancy I had. The water was crystal clear and I could always see the sand on the bottom. I felt great and kept thinking to myself this is going to be great swimming in the Carribean.

OK, back to why I was glad I got in earlier. I rented a bike case and the shop said they'd take the pedals, wheels, seat post, and bars off. When I opened the case I saw everything dismantled. Brakes were off the frame, rear derailer was off, chain was in a bag. Cables were just hanging. Ok, I have absolutely no mechanical skills and figured my Thursday taper ride was out the window because the mechanics wouldn't be at the race site until Friday.

Well, the good news is I got there early and my wife wasn't coming in until Friday. I had nothing to do but hang out on the beach and in my room. After getting somewhat over the anger I started working on the bike and eventually figured out where everything went. It wasn't put back together as it was and shifting was rough, but it allowed me to get out for a warmup ride Thursday.