General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Running : Asphalt –vs- Grass Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-10-01 2:56 PM

User image

Jax, Florida
Subject: Running : Asphalt –vs- Grass
As a newbie, I'm looking for some advice.

Have just started training but I hope to be up to about 20 mi a week of running soon. Since I live in a neighborhood with a golf course I could possibly change my schedule allowing me to run on the golf course at night in lieu of the roads in the morning.

As I’m overweight and probably will be until spring is there an advantage to running on the grass. I’m guessing it would be a little tougher to plod along on the grass but may be easier impact wise on my joints as I have no history of running. Asking because my knees seem to be just a touch sore today. Or with the small amount of mileage I’m talking about does it not really matter.

2007-10-01 3:10 PM
in reply to: #986012

Expert
Subject: RE: Running : Asphalt –vs- Grass
Run on soft surfaces whenever you can. Those knees need to last you a long long time.
2007-10-01 3:21 PM

Iron Donkey
, Wisconsin

Virtus - 2007-10-01 2:56 PM Since I live in a neighborhood with a golf course I could possibly change my schedule allowing me to run on the golf course at night in lieu of the roads in the morning.

I would ask for permission in advance to run on the course.  There could be a liability thing if something happens.

Golf courses were always fun to run on in meets and in training when I was in H.S. (20 plus years ago).

Have fun!  FORE!! 

2007-10-01 3:30 PM

User image

Champion
Milton, GA

here are my 2 cents...

I am all for running and training on different types of surfaces... but at the end of the day keep in mind what you will be racing on.