Ironman North America
75F / 24C
Sunny
Total Time = 12h 53m 46s
Overall Rank = 1350/
Age Group = W40-44
Age Group Rank = 55/105
Pre-race routine:

woke up at 2:30 to pee, and just kind of laid in bed until 3 or so. My alarm was set for 3:15, so there was no point going back to sleep. I slowly drank 2 boosts, 1 cup of coffee, sipped on water and ate a large bowl of cheerios. Left the condo about 5:15 to walk the mile to the race site. It was a nice quiet walk with Jonathan and other athletes, and a good warm up. I was suprisingly calm and looking forward to getting this thing going! I went to get bodymarked and the girl asked if I was a pro :) I had a very low number because of the Janus Charity Challenge. I laughed and told her I was 41. I had let a little air out of my tires the day before so I pumped my tires up with a neighbor's pump to avoid the line (next time I'd bring my own I think). Met Carl (I think??) from BT at the racks-he said hello and good luck. Did one last check of everything, then went to drop the special needs bags off and take one last trip to the potty.
Event warmup:

Got into the wetsuit, took a few photos...hugged and kissed my hubby. He said a prayer for me on the beach, then I wandered down to the water, feeling the excitement around me!
Swim
  • 1h 09m 1s
  • 3800 meters
  • 01m 35s / 100 meters
Comments: