General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Off season goals -- Personal Trainer, Strength Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-11-19 1:11 PM

User image

Chicago
Subject: Off season goals -- Personal Trainer, Strength
All right. I've been doing tris for about 6 years, endurance sports almost 8. The time has come, though..to join a gym. I have done fine without one before, doing all my tri training outdoors and weight training at home with dumbbells. However, I think I might join a gym for two reasons:

1. Access to more strength eqipment, and classes.
2. Access to a personal trainer (I am asking specifically for one that does work with triathletes).

However, I need encouragement taking the plunge! I prided myself for years on not having a gym membership, but I feel like the training I will get from a trainer, plus access to more equipment, is what I need to challenge my body more (and build functional strength for next season).

Can anyone chime in and share his/her thoughts?

I am looking to join Crunch, btw.

2007-11-19 1:27 PM
in reply to: #1060684

User image

Champion
MA
Subject: RE: Off season goals -- Personal Trainer, Strength

Why hire a personal trainer? For less money you could hire a tri coach and I suspect you'd improve your tri times more than working with a personal trainer. I guess it depends on your goals.

Big difference in viewpoints here on BT if strength training is helpful or not.

I'm a women over 45 and think for me it is good. I was in a bike crash and seperated my shoulder. My PT commented to me that I recovered probably more than twice as fast as I was strong at the time of my crash so I was able to build more strength quickly and recover.

I have a tri coach and he has me do all sorts of different strength training and probably 85% of the stuff I could do at home with weights, bands and the like. I don't use machines as they work one muscle group not helping me move better and coordinate the movement.