General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Getting to IM FL, particularly from MI Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-11-26 12:49 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Ontario
Subject: Getting to IM FL, particularly from MI

I have little experience traveling with a bike so I'm looking for advice on the best way to get to IM FL 2008 with my bike from the Detroit area. I see that US Airways has a link on the IM FL website advertising free bike transport if you book through the IM website. It looks like flying US Airways would mean Detroit-Charlotte-Tallahassee or Pensacola and then renting a car. Does anyone have any experience doing this with US Airways?

Some triathletes prefer to ship their bikes by courier. Does anyone have experience doing this with IM FL? It sounds like the host hotel will accept bike shipments, but I was thinking about a condo down the road. Is there a bike shop in PCB that accepts bike shipments and reassembles the bikes? I wonder if the courier office would just hold onto the bike in PCB until you come and get it? Anyone with experience on the cost comparison of courier vs take it with you on the plane? There is also air vs ground courier options.

NWA has some inexpensive flights Detroit-Memphis-PCB. Anyone know what NWA's charge is for a bike box, or acceptable weight/dimensions? Is there a shuttle or something that runs from the airport to area hotels/condos, or are we stuck renting a car/van that will fit a bike box? Anyone with opinions on the more bike-friendly airlines?

I'm actually traveling from Canada but I'm assuming that it will simplify things greatly if I drive my bike box to Detroit and either drop it off with a courier or take it with me on the plane.