General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Water bottles Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-02-04 1:51 PM

Subject: Water bottles
Hi, I am new to the tri world and need to get the right equipment. What style hydration set-up is best for the running portion, and what brands? Thanks!

2004-02-04 1:54 PM
in reply to: #6009

User image

Veteran
St. Catharines, Ontario
Subject: RE: Water bottles
I just take the cups that the race support hands me. Sometimes when I train I'll carry a water bottle in my hand. On really hot humid days when I'm running 20 miles I'll sometimes wear my camel back that I bought for mountain biking.
2004-02-04 2:26 PM

User image

Master
Berkeley, CA
Look at the race map. They normally show where the water stops will be. If it is only (only!) a 10k run, I'd advise using them if they occur frequently enough for you. If not, take a look at the Fuel Belt at www.fuelbelt.com

I used one during a marathon and it was very helpful, because I wanted to put my own sports drink in it, then I used water on the course for the Gu (gel pack) that I was consuming.

It was very comfortable.

Dana
2004-02-04 4:47 PM

Expert
NC Illinois
Hydration for the run takes place on the bike. I would guess that most of the water taken in during the actual run leg is to moisten to mouth and clear away spit for easier breathing. It's not likely that the water is consumed, absorbed, and distributed in the amount of time it takes to complete the run leg.

Beer doesn't even run through me that fast *wink*.
2004-02-04 6:52 PM

thanks for the ideas so far, I am actually more concerned with training at this point (long runs 10+ miles). THanks again!
2004-02-04 6:56 PM

User image

Veteran