General Discussion Triathlon Talk » running races on ironman training Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-12-17 6:29 PM

Veteran
Subject: running races on ironman training
Hi,

I have been training for a 1/2 ironman in 2008. Haven't deicded which one but it will be at the end of the year. My background is in running.

I am not swimming at the moment due to an injury but have been running and cycling.

I entered a 1/2 marathon in February and a full marathon in March. I am not able to do any hill training on my runs as I have chronic Achilles problems.

My question is: how can I incorporate bike training to help with my running? What sessions could i do on the bike?

At the moment I do 2 to 3x week runs (1LSR, 1@ mara or 1/2 mara pace and 1 with fast, short strides), depending on my energy levels. Heavy, tiring running sessions make my legs tired and hard to recover. I am finding it easier now that I am incorporating cycling in my training.

I have many Spinerval DVDs (Aerobase, Aerobase compilation and Tough Love) that I can use. I am also thinking of getting one for hill training.

Can anyone give me some tips? Advice?

I am also afraid that doing strong, heavy bike work will make my legs too heavy for running long distances. Could it happen?

thank you very much

2007-12-18 4:57 AM
in reply to: #1106778

User image

Veteran
Subject: RE: running races on ironman training
If you read some other posts I´ve done here, you will see I´m a big believer in Big Gear bike sessions, BUT for your situation, who want to run on fresh legs, I would advise to keep your bike cadence 85+, this way our legs will still be quite fresh for your training and racing.

As you plan on the half ony later in 2008, and your running races are on Feb and March, why not do only some maintaince work on the bike, with 50´-1h easy spins alternating days with your run training, and after the marathon you get back with it, and hopefully the swim injury will be healed too.

Vinnie