General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Good tips for an inexperienced cook? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-12-23 11:21 PM

New user

Subject: Good tips for an inexperienced cook?
You can cook without using a microwave?

I'm just beginning to learn the art of cooking, and I had gained weight in the past year because I had eaten out a lot, and not watched my diet.

Anyone have any tips of a good diet to follow or sites or books to buy?

Thanks,
James

2007-12-24 3:56 PM
in reply to: #1115332

User image

Expert
Lansdale, PA.
Subject: RE: Good tips for an inexperienced cook?
Don't follow diets. Eat more whole foods including fruits and veggies. Watch out for processed and fried foods. And wactch when you eat. More small meals is better than a few large. Drink a large glass of water before meal time and you'll be full faster and not eat as much.
Most of all exercise. Find your correct HR's and work in your aerobic zone and you'll lose weight.
No hocus pocus!
Best of luck and Merry Christmas!
Steve
2007-12-25 7:07 AM

Master
STL

when something calls for oil (like in a pan) you can ususally use half the amount or use spray.

when stir frying...use broths in stead of oil

look into substitues...things like cottage cheese instead of ricotta cheese, pineapple instead of butter in stuffing mix, turkey instead of hamburger, lean hamburger instead of regular hamburger, applesauce instead of eggs in baked good, egg whites instead of whole eggs, whole grains instead of white grains...well, you get the point!

i also add more veggies than recipies usually call for.

2007-12-26 9:13 PM
in reply to: #1116233

New user

Thanks for the tips.

I'll be asking more questions as I try more things.
2007-12-27 9:14 AM

Don't get frustrated with it.  Cooking is not so bad once you get the hang of it... and chopping up a million vegetables gets easier the more you do it.  Just like running