Run
  • 56m 47s
  • 6.20 miles
  • 09m 10s /Mi

I am not very good at tapering.

I went to the All Comers Track and Field Meet today and was late. Because of the rain they whipped through the events so my two were DONE when I got there! Dang! So I decided to stay for the 10k. It was me and THREE HIGH SCHOOL TRACK KIDS! Okay...no freaking way. I tell Roy "No, I'll just run home. This would be too embarrassing." So they come over to me and BEG me to run with them. I joked that they would pass me 17 times and would need to mock me and it would hurt my self esteem. They promised not to mock...so I said I'd run.

They passed me SIX TIMES! OMG the humiliation! But you know what, I do believe this was my fastest 10k yet. Lemme check...

Nope, the Dawg Dash was faster. Close, though! Ran in my new Gel Eveolutions, they felt good.

Sweet thing was, the boys came out and ran the last six laps with me. Isnt' that sweet? Nice kids! So while it was embarrassing, it was also really nice and I'm glad I did it.

It was a rainy, icky run twenty-six times around the track. I had to type that out because running TWENTY SIX times around a track kind of sucks. Running TWENTY SIX times around a track in the rain, sucks donkeys. Running TWENTY SIX TIMES around a track in the rain alone as the very last person sucks donkeys runny noses.

Naw...it was a good experience. My cheer section was awesome. Every lap I'd run by Roy and he'd do something new...he did the wave, he held up his cell phone and did the waving it in the air (it was dark by this point), he did cheers. It was SO cute. Every time the boys passed me they told me I was doing great. Every time I passed the girls who were timing they told me great job. I just listened to my podcast and marveled at how good it felt and how relatively fast I was going. I'm really glad I did it...even though I had a single spectator and came in dead last. LOL!