General Discussion Triathlon Talk » First Triathlon... I little worried about finishing last Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2007-06-28 9:48 AM

Subject: First Triathlon... I little worried about finishing last
Hi All,

I am very new to this sport. I started training over the winter to get my endurance up and have now started to train full on (basically six days a week... 2 swim, 2 run, 2 bike... plus a full body weight training session so I don't loose a lot of muscle mass... lol, and beach volleyball twice a week).

Anyway, I was reviewing the posted times for the Vancouver Triathlon (Olympic Distance) which is the triathlon I am running in September. I am a little concerned that my times are way to slow. Since this is my first Triathlon, my goal is only to complete the course, but I don't want to be last.

So, I guess what I am asking is this... what kind of time should I expect as a beginner... or rather, what was your first Tri time. Secondly, so you think my times (posted below) will cause me to finish very last. I have posted my current training times below (though I expect they will improve a bit between now and race day).

Swim 1.5K (in the pool) - 48 minutes
Bike 39K (Bike machine time... no idea what my time is like on the road yet) - 1hr 35 minutes
Run 10K - 49 minutes

Thanks in advance,
Dave

2007-06-28 9:59 AM
in reply to: #864185

User image

Cycling Guru
Fulton, MD
Subject: RE: First Triathlon... I little worried about finishing last

Relax and sit back a second ......

What is it you are trying to accomplish by doing a tri?  Sounds like you are doing it as a lifestyle change and for your health and fitness, which is the best reason and how everyone gets started!