General Discussion Triathlon Talk » timing the training for a sprint, 1/2 mary and oly Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-07-15 10:04 AM

User image

Master
Vista, CA
Subject: timing the training for a sprint, 1/2 mary and oly

I'm in a sprint tri in a week and a half. Then a 1/2 marathon Aug.17th and am planning on oly (my first) at the end of Sept. I may throw another sprint in before the oly, too. My question is about balancing the run training. I am up to 7 miles consistently running and need to up that, but don't want to take away time from my swim and bike. What would you veterans and more experienced triathletes suggest? This is my first year, I've done 3 sprints and have done better (placed higher) and felt more comfortable in each successive event.  But I don't want to fry my legs or my brain/emotions. Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Lynn 

2008-07-15 10:18 AM
in reply to: #1530646

User image

Extreme Veteran
Westlake, OH
Subject: RE: timing the training for a sprint, 1/2 mary and oly

"I am up to 7 miles consistently running and need to up that, but don't want to take away time from my swim and bike."

Umm...am I reading this right?  Your longest run to date is 7 miles and you have a 1/2 mary about 4 weeks away?  And in looking at your logs, it looks like you run about 12 miles a week?

My first thought is that you should have asked this question 3 months ago.  At that time I would have suggested doing a 3, 4, or 5 run a week 1/2 mary plan working up to 14 or so miles as your long run and 25 to 30+ miles per week.  As it stands now, getting to 13 miles is going to be difficult and with some risk.

For you LSDs I suppose that you could do 8/9 miles this weekend.  A high run volume for the week of your sprint.  Sorry you should, imho, train through that race.  10/11 miles the weekend of the 3rd, 11/12 the weekend of the 10th, and then 13.1 on the weekend of the 17th.