General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Newbie Training advice Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2007-03-01 9:44 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Subject: Newbie Training advice
Hi all,

Tried to post earlier, but my browser must have eaten it

First off, I am a complete newbie to tri's. I swam competitively in high school (short distances) so I am not worried about finishing my swims. I just finished my 2nd marathon, so I am not too worried about finishing the run. I like biking and have a decent road bike and am putting in miles now to get faster and build up my endurance on the bike. My problem is my training.

I am using Friel's Triathlete's Training Bible and have created a plan through Jun (my planned HIM) with weekly times (i.e. 10 hrs next week, 10.5 the week after, etc) including all step-back/recovery weeks as well. Now I am trying to put that into a plan like I am used to for running. 3@9:30, LSD 10@11:10, etc. How do I convert hours into specific paced work-outs?

I am just worried that if I train based on time, I won't get my mileage and speed where I want them in time for my HIM. I like being able to go out for a run or ride and know what pace-range I should be in.

Also, it seems that my running mileage will be dropping as I get more biking in. Is that ok or should I plan on trying to at least maintain my running miles?

Any advice, suggestions are welcome.

Thanks
Stephen

2007-03-01 10:14 PM
in reply to: #708503

User image

Elite
Texas
Subject: RE: Newbie Training advice

sandert - 2007-03-01 9:44 PMNow I am trying to put that into a plan like I am used to for running. 3@9:30, LSD 10@11:10, etc. How do I convert hours into specific paced work-outs?