General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Ladies: long hair question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-03-24 9:25 PM

User image

Regular
Ontario
Subject: Ladies: long hair question
I need to advice of the ladies (larger sample pool) who have long hair.

I have been growing my hair out for almost 2 years and it is past shoulder length. It is getting a bit irritating in terms of training (especially over-heating)

Does anyone have any management tips OR "I couldn't stand it so I cut it off" stories?

2008-03-24 9:40 PM
in reply to: #1291094

User image

Wife, Mother, Friend.
South
Subject: RE: Ladies: long hair question

this has been discussed several times before.  I do a singlefrench braid when racing, ponytail when training.  No problem, and I live in hot and humid FL.

swim- I wet my hair in the shower before and use spray on or leave in conditioner after the swim.

here's one of my fave pics- taken at BT Gasparilla 2006. IT's pretty much the same length now. 

http://www.beginnertriathlete.com/discussion/photos/get-photo.asp?photoid=9928

Quite a few chicks on BT have super long hair. 

2008-03-24 10:24 PM

User image

Elite
Bay Area, CA

For me, racing, pony tail all the way.  Stuff it up under the swim cap, pull it through the bike helmet, and pull it through the opening on the swim cap.  Out of my way, NOT on my neck and not bothering me at all.  I usually do run with a hat or headband or something though, because I always get those annoying pieces that work their way out of the elastic and get in my eyes/mouth/etc.  The hat totally takes care of that.