General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Question re running/walking intervals when just beginning a running program Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-04-04 8:47 AM

Subject: Question re running/walking intervals when just beginning a running program
Hi everyone, I hope this is the right forum to post my question . . . I'm brand new to running and have begun the Couch-to-5K running program (my goal is weight loss and to begin to build my fitness).  I was wondering if there are any guidelines that I should follow when breaking the walking and running times into intervals.  Is it better to have a greater number of intervals with shorter times spent running and recovering, or is it better to have fewer intervals with longer running and recovery times?  Or should I change it up from workout to workout?  Thanks for any help!

2008-04-04 9:11 AM
in reply to: #1315190

User image

Champion
Dallas, TX
Subject: RE: Question re running/walking intervals when just beginning a running program
Hhhuuummmm... I think I was a bit confused by your question, but I'll do my best here.

If you goal is to run the entire time/distance... then you want to start with a longer walk/run interval... and try to reduce the walking portion as time goes on. You will have to decide what that interval will be.

For example, maybe you say that for week 1 you want to do:
5 minute walk, 1 minute run- for 12 minutes, then 18 minutes (run 3 times a week)

Week 2:
5 minute walk, 2 minute run- for 14 minutes, then 21 minutes

Week 3:
4 minute walk, 2 minute run- for 24 minutes, then 30 minutes

Now, I'm saying that is what you should do. I'm not a coach or anything of the sort. I'm just giving examples of what you could do. You just have to determine where your fitness is at and how to start and improve.