General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Swimmer's shoulder Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-04-15 11:01 AM

Seattle, Ballard neighborhood
Subject: Swimmer's shoulder
I didn't really realize that I had NO clue how to really swim until I started training for a triathlon. A couple of weeks ago I went to a swim clinic, but I still keep injuring my right shoulder almost everytime I go for a swim which is every couple of days. If it hurts REALLY bad, I take an additional day off. I'm trying to arch my elbow higher and touch my thumb to my thing as I make my stroke, but no matter what I do, I can't seem to kick this constant pain. Any suggestions? Does anyone else have this problem too?

On a side note: Before I went to the swim clinic, I got a sharp pain in my left butt cheek and my right shoulder everytime I swam. I now know I'm supposed to actually twist my hips which is helping with the butt pain.

2008-04-15 11:35 AM
in reply to: #1339023

Subject: ...
This user's post has been ignored.
2008-04-15 11:48 AM
in reply to: #1339108

Subject: RE: Swimmer's shoulder
DrLeah - 2008-04-15 9:35 AM

and touch my thumb to my thing as I make my stroke

well, that's your problem right there

Seriously though, maybe you're rotating your arm too much when your hand enters the water or maybe your arm is crossing the midline of your body as it enters the water?  I believe there are some good exercises here to strengthen the rotator cuff and shoulder muscles - between that and being conscious of hand position & where your arm is during the catch phase should help.

OOPS! I meant "touch my thumb to my thigh!" This was what they said we should be doing in the swim clinic to make sure we're following through with the stroke.
2008-04-15 1:55 PM

DC