General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Kure Beach Double Sprint Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-05-29 10:08 AM

New user

North Carolina (Raleigh or Beaufort)
Subject: Kure Beach Double Sprint
Just finished my second triathlon (Surf & Turf) where I really blew the ocean swim--my first ocean swim and I became totally disoriented. I am working on training for the Kure Beach Double Sprint and hoping to get some tips about the ocean swim and motivation in general. Feel I let myself down with my last tri and finding very hard to get back into training. I dread the gym now instead of enjoying it.

More positive note, has anyone done the Kure Beach before and have any tips/pointers or recommendations?

I'm a grad student working on the coast in marine fisheries and got into triathlons for a physical challenge and fun. Really loved my first one and signed up for several this year.

2008-05-29 11:25 AM
in reply to: #1430685

User image

Veteran
Wilmington, NC
Subject: RE: Kure Beach Double Sprint
Congrats on finishing your second race at S&T. I was there myself, and really blew the swim. My split said 20:01 for the swim. That was my first open water/ ocean swim as well. I am not doing Kure Beach, but I spoke with a freind the other day who has. He said the thing to watch out for is the fact that you have to swim at the end. I know it's only 375m's but that can be a long swim if you burn yourself out on the first swim and then the bike and run portions. Hopefully the water stays calm that morning. That was one nice thing about the S&T swim. Good luck, and I hope this helps some. I have a guy's number that can help with swimming. He won S&T. He has helped me to understand a lot of what I was doing wrong and gave me some drills to do. Let me know if you wnat to get some lessons.

Erik
2008-05-29 12:03 PM
in reply to: #1430941

New user

Thanks Erik! Congrats on finishing S&T too! It would be great to get some swim tip and drills, what did you learn?