General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Looking for OWS partner/group - Detroit Area Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-07-14 4:35 PM

User image

Veteran
Subject: Looking for OWS partner/group - Detroit Area
I am new to Tri's and have completed my first 2 (Big Fish 6-22 and Anchor Bay 7-12). Like many beginners, the swim is my nemisis! I can swim 1 mile in a pool without much problem (slow - about 35 min), but doing 1/2 mile OWS is a KILLER for me! I need to get in more practice, but don't really want to do OWS by myself. I am willing to travel in Detroit Area (Macomb/Oakland County preferred), but would like to find a partner/group to do some swims. Anyone have any suggestions?

Also, can anyone recommend any training video's for OWS? I see some ads, but hate to spend $35 if they aren't any good! Suggestions please.

Thanks,

Dan

2008-07-14 5:57 PM
in reply to: #1529180

User image

Expert
Troy, MI
Subject: RE: Looking for OWS partner/group - Detroit Area
Welcome-there is a group of us that swim at Island Lake Recreational area every Thursday.  Its a long drive for me but worth the experience.  Brown Trout Lake is great to swim, clean  and clear.  Its helped me, although the swim is still my nemesis.  Some of us go biking after, so you maybe able to get a good workout and make the drive worth the cost of your gas. 
2008-07-14 9:16 PM
in reply to: #1529341

User image

Veteran
JoGo,

It is a bit far, but I would love to try it a few times. Have a couple of questions:

1. Is it ok for a novice like me to join?
2. What time to you usually meet over there?

I looked it up on a map and it is about 50 - 55 minute drive for me. I am serious about improving and would be willing to make the trip for some encouragement/help!

How do I find everyone and make sure you are going to be there?

Thanks,

Dan
2008-07-14 9:45 PM

User image

Expert
Troy, MI