General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Absolute Beginner absolutely - swimming and base training Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-02-23 5:55 PM

Subject: Absolute Beginner absolutely - swimming and base training
So I am genuinely interested in training up for a triathalon but I don't even know how to begin. Mostly I stick to running, road biking, and mtn biking. I will have run my fifth marathon at the LA on 3/7 (from LA) and will run the RNR in June in SD. I will continue with this but I want to raise the bar and, well, I like gear and where do you get to use more gear than in Tri. I guess I am half begun, as I cycle too but have never swum for fitness, unless there is a place for dog paddling - than I am in. So I am looking for advice. I live in the LA area and have checked out the LA Tri club but all their activities are just far enough with all this traffic to null the benefits. But I guess they are my best bet. So does anyone know where I can learn how to swim for competition? Or any links to other groups in LA? Oh and one more thing. I have been reading a lot about base training. Is this the way to go? I have just been chugging it for the last three years. Just running with my heart rate but not really training. I hate the idea of slowing down and refusing the need to open things up and run at a fat pace because it puts my heart rate over the base. Is this the way to go?

Edited by robot fury 2004-02-23 5:56 PM

2004-02-23 6:18 PM
in reply to: #8975

Extreme Veteran
Subject: RE: Absolute Beginner absolutely - swimming and base training
My advice to you on the swim is to find a masters team and see if you can make their practices. You will learn a lot and swimming in a group is nore fun than training by yourself!

I'll leave the other stuff to those more qualified than I and there are plenty of them here.
2004-02-23 6:32 PM

User image

Central Louisiana