General Discussion Triathlon Talk » noob swimmer: breathing & dizzyness Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-07-17 11:28 PM

User image

Subject: noob swimmer: breathing & dizzyness

hi all - newbie here! ..i've been a runner for a few years, a cycler for a few months, and swimmer (if you call it that) for a few hours. I have my first sprint in 3 months and I'm REALLY nervous after my swim today... I felt light headed and thought I was going to fall over. I searched these forums and found out I'm not alone. I'm trying to consolidate some basic breathing / swimming tips (as well as ways to help with being light-headed)... additions / corrections would be greatly appreciated.

- go slow and relax (I'm not looking to "win"....this time)
- exhale completely under water (nose and mouth)
- roll your body to get air (don't just turn your head)
- take a deep breath above water
- you can "side swim" to relax and catch your breath (see here )
- swim face down (facing the bottom of pool/ocean floor)

Dizzy / light-headed issues:
- try ear plugs/swim cap (water in the ear can cause this)
- breath (fully exhale underwater, deep breath in, not too fast -or- slow, find rhythm)
- don't move your head around too much, roll in/out of water

Any other thoughts or insight would be appreciated. I am now freaking out about the swim (in 3 months).. will try again tomorrow.. slower, deeper, relaxed...

- Mike

2008-07-18 6:27 AM
in reply to: #1538927

Subject: ...
This user's post has been ignored.
2008-07-18 8:08 AM

Veteran
South Carolina
Subject: RE: noob swimmer: breathing & dizzyness
Last year was my first year of consistent swim practices. I was completely surprised at how fast you build up the ability to do longer yardage with each passing week. Don't worry - after a few weeks, you'll be much more comfortable, and able to swim longer.
2008-07-18 8:32 AM

Iron Donkey
, Wisconsin
javaMonk - 2008-07-17 11:28 PM