General Discussion Triathlon Talk » First timer looking for help Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2008-07-19 3:33 PM

Subject: First timer looking for help
Hello -

I'll start off with my experience in triathlons....................

That's about it; I have never done anything like this before. In high school I was a three sport athlete and played college football after graduating. Now that my playing days are done, my competitive nature is not being satisfied. In fact, the only thing being satisfied is my appetite. I'm hoping that training for a triathlon will satisfy by need for competition and fitness. To my question......

There is no way I will be able to train in time to complete one this summer. Currently I am 6'2" and around 250 lbs. I was hoping that somebody could give me an idea of what kind of training I can do in preparation for next year. I wish to compete in an Olympic length triathlon. Every sample training schedule I found on this site and others are more geared for short term training periods (4 to 6 months). I would like to start training as soon as possible for next summer. But, I need some sort of guidance, almost like a map to guide me in this coming year.

Any help would be much appreciated. This seems like a great site with an abundant amount of information and helpful people. I look forward and thank you in advance for your information.

2008-07-19 3:45 PM
in reply to: #1542171

User image

Extreme Veteran
New Brunswick, Canada
Subject: RE: First timer looking for help

Welcome !!

My own experience with triathlon ....... 1 !!

I started with a Sprint and had a great experience. Planning a couple more this summer/fall and then a step up to Oly next summer. You might think about doing one as an intro.

2008-07-19 4:15 PM

User image

Champion
Brandon, MS