General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Life is what happens when you are busy planning Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-02-14 1:41 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Delray Beach, FL
Subject: Life is what happens when you are busy planning
Hi everybody... I am new to this (site & tri) but I am not new to sports. I used to be an athlete when I was a teenager (I was in the gymnastic team back in the times). Then I concentrated on partying and having fun in college (I still party a lot, but that is a different story). I was big into aerobics (since I was too old for gymnastics). After college I moved to the States, married my boyfriend of many years and forgot about myself for a good 10 years. 30 pounds heavier and a broken heart later I decided to start running to heal my soul and make sense of my life (what else can you do after waking up at 5:30 am every day?).
The paradox is that I hated running! pushing my body to the limit was the only thing that could keep my mind busy and make sense of the chaos in my life. 25 pounds less and 4 years later I am feeling better than ever! Time flies when you are having fun!!!!!!!!!! I've traveled many places, learned to water sky in Greece, and I went canopy tree in Costa Rica. After 6 months of training (and 2 hurricanes) I finished my first marathon in January! I finally figured life is too short not to have fun... What next? I really don't know but I had the post marathon blues and decided to train for a triatlhon until I am ready for my second marathon. I was always amazed to watch "normal" people finishing the IronMan. I still think it is crazy (not on my immediate goals) but for some reason the dream seems a little closer now... Since most of my buddies are a bunch of party people and my marathon buddy is a CPA, I found myself in need of a partner. Hey, I'll settle for a virtual partner.
This site is helping me to get a lot of information about the sport. Thanks for the support!