General Discussion Triathlon Talk » For those weightlifters in the crowd... Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-02-23 8:42 PM

Subject: For those weightlifters in the crowd...
Just wondering if someone might have some suggestions on training while trying not to loose too much weight. I am new to triathlon training (3-spints last year) but I am really wanting to be more competetive and see some improvements on finish times. At the same time I love getting in the weightroom and hitting the heavy weights. Last summer while training I went from 195 lbs to 175 lbs while eating healthy but as much as I could to maintain weight. Any diet or supplement suggestions to prevent too much weight loss will be very helpfull.

Thanks in advance, Scott

2005-02-23 8:56 PM
in reply to: #121729

User image

Official BT Coach
Englewood, CO
Subject: RE: For those weightlifters in the crowd...

When you lift weights you are burning a ton of calories because is is anerobic.  You need to keep your carb intake up and more protein after your workouts.  The carbs will help you keep on the weight and the protein will help muscles recover and add muscle.  You certainly do not want to bulk up too much if you are a heavy lifter.  Remember to work your core muscles, those are the best muscles to work.  Best of luck in your training.

Mark

2005-02-23 9:02 PM

JUst a question. If you are gaining in stregth and getting fitter why would you want to keep the extra weight? It is obviously fat and will slow you down. ON a side note, hitting heavy weights will prob not give you the ideal tri body either.
2005-02-23 9:52 PM

User image

Expert
Lafayette, CO