General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Hello from Georgia! Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-03-06 10:00 PM

User image

New user

Subject: Hello from Georgia!

I am new to everything about this!  I love to bike, but the running and swimming are foreign to me.  I watched my husband (and others) do a duathlon this weekend and I really was inspired.  I haven't ran since I was in high school - and even then I didn't like it much because of the pain of shin splints I was plagued with.  I have decided to do the "couch to 5k" training program to get myself in shape - I would like to be able to do a 5k in October (I am taking the conservative approach to training because I am about 30 lbs overweight). 

Two other goals that I have are to run/bike in the same duathlon that my husband did this weekend next year and to ride in RAGBRAI (Register's Annual Great Bike Ride Across Iowa) in July 2006.  Ragbrai (for those who don't know) is a week long ride that takes you about 500 miles across the state of Iowa, starting at the Missouri river and ending up at the Mississippi river.

I have no idea if I can do this, but I open for anything!  Let the training begin!

2005-03-07 9:36 AM
in reply to: #126190

User image

Expert
White House, TN
Subject: RE: Hello from Georgia!
Welcome!  It's great that you want to start to be more like your husband.  He sounds like a handsome, intelligent, and all around great guy.

I can't wait to see how you progress and get better.
2005-03-07 9:40 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Eagleville,

Sara,