General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Indoor Swim Distance vs Open Water Distance Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-03-19 11:37 PM

User image

Veteran
OHIO south of Dayton
Subject: Indoor Swim Distance vs Open Water Distance
New to the site. LOTs of great info.

I am now up to 1200m in my swim training distance and my first tri-sprint race is 1.5 months away. Not to discount the other events, but the swim is most difficult for me. The race is only 800m but I have a couple q's......since I am new to the sport.

Any advice on additional training I can do to prepare for the "pack" swim? I have heard horror stories of busted noses. This has to equate to expended energy somehow.

Also, I have been swimming the 1200mtrs freestyle with a kickturn. The push off the wall should account for about 1 stroke per 25m, so I assume that would equate to around 40 additional strokes, which is 100mtrs in open water (10 freestyle-strokes per my one 25m lap). Am I looking too deep here or should I continue training extra distance?

2005-03-19 11:51 PM
in reply to: #131857

User image

Regular
Kansas (Kansas City area)
Subject: RE: Indoor Swim Distance vs Open Water Distance
Sounds like you're doing the right distance. I would say to boost your confidence, make sure you can swim 800 meters continuously in the pool. The horror stories you hear about usually result from individuals placing themselves in the wrong position as the beginning of the swim. There is nothing wrong with starting at the back of the pack and on the side. By starting at the back, it gives me an opportunity to pass other people (not that that happens a whole lot). As for the kick turn, I don't have any real good advice for you. I figure the added adrenaline will make up for the turns.